Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Department News and Updates

Congratulations to PhD and MS students who received their degree during the last academic year!

Xiaofei Bai (PhD), Joanna Cooper (PhD), Ramya Enganti (PhD), Willy Evangelista (PhD),Jessica Gullett (PhD), Pawel Kosentka (PhD), Chris Mendoza (MS), Tanmoy Mukherjee (PhD), Andrew Stafford (PhD), and Yukihiro Yamada (PhD).

 Last year’s noteworthy achievements

  • Jeremy Smith is Co-PI of a new, $2.1M grant to ORNL from DOE for the development of a new small-angle scattering instrument at the Spallation Neutron Source second target station.
  • Albrecht von Arnim received an NIH R15-AREA award: Regulation of protein synthesis by metabolic signals and the circadian clock.
  • Brad Binder is Co-PI of a new NSF grant “Understanding the spatiotemporal regulation of the ethylene signaling network.”
  • Gladys Alexandre was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology
  • Graduate student Udodirim Onwubiko (Das lab) was awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship to study coordination of septum ingression and actomyosin ring constriction during cytokinesis.
  • BCMB graduate students who received Graduate Student Senate awards this year were Craig Conner for Excellence in Teaching, Thomas Payne for Excellence in Research, and Justin Westerfield for Excellence in Service.
  • Scott Carlew (Binder lab) received a NSF-supported travel award to attend the XI International Symposium on the Plant Hormone Ethylene in Chania, Greece. Jessica Hendricks (Bruce lab), Celeste Rodriguez (Binder lab), and Amie Sankoh (Birch-Smith lab) were awarded a travel grant from the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) to attend the Plant Biology meeting in Montreal, Canada.
  • Sterling Field (Roberts lab) was chosen as a 2017 ASPB scholar. This award from the American Society of Plant Biologists is sponsored by Conviron and is awarded to exceptional students studying plant biology.
  • Zach Beamer (Roberts lab) received a Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) award to study the functional basis of transport selectivity in nodulin 26 intrinsic protein channels.
  • Two BCMB students were honored at the Chancellor’s awards banquet. Ramya Enganti (graduate student in the Von Arnim lab) was given a 2018 Extraordinary Professional Promise Award and Peyton Terry (undergraduate student in the McCord lab) a 2018 Extraordinary Academic Achievement Award.
  • During the 21st Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (Eureka), several students who participated in research in BCMB labs received awards. Congratulations to Office of Research & Engagement Bronze Awards winners Delaney Fisher and Ronald Franz (Krishnan lab), and Charles Barnes (von Arnim lab). Rena Abdureham (Bruce lab), Charles Barnes (Von Arnim lab), Bill Pham (Shen lab), Jacqueline Richards (Burch-Smith lab), Delaney Fisher and Ronald Franz (both from the Krishnan lab) won College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Awards.
  • Rena Abdurehman, an undergraduate researcher in the lab of Barry Bruce, was awarded a U.S. Fulbright Research Award to study the bioremediation of wastewater in Argentina.

Please support the BCMB Department. Your gifts make a difference! They help us to provide a high quality educational experience for our undergraduate and graduate majors that prepares them for a wide variety of career options, to promote science awareness and literacy in the broader community, and to advance scientific knowledge through our research efforts. If you would like to know more about giving, please contact Don Eisenberg, director of advancement, College of Arts and Sciences at 865-770-1913 or