Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty News & Updates

Gladys Alexandre received the American Society for Microbiology’s (ASM) William A. Hinton Award for Advancement of a Diverse Community of Microbiologists. Alexandre was also recognized by the Chancellor with the 2020 Notable UT Woman Award.

Fran Barrera was given a StART grant from the Science Alliance. Barrera was elected to chair the Membrane Structure & Function Subgroup of the Biophysical Society.

Maitreyi Das received an NSF CAREER Award to study the spatiotemporal organization of cytokinetic events.

Maitreyi Das and Tian Hong were awarded an NIH RO1 grant to study cell-cycle dependent cell polarity control.

Tian Hong received a grant from the Joint Division of Mathematical Sciences/National Institute of General Medical Sciences (DMS/NIGMS) to mathematically model cell fate transitions.

Nitin Jain received the Senior Award for Excellence in Teaching from the College of Arts and Sciences.

Keerthi Krishnan received an NIH R15 grant to study the role of perineuronal nets in neuronal plasticity as it relates to maternal social behaviors. Her lab received funding from the Summer Undergraduate Research Group Experience (SURGE) Program of the Office of Undergraduate Research at UT.

Elena Shpak was awarded an NSF grant to study the role of the ERECTA family of receptors and their ligands on flower development.

Jeremy Smith is part of a team that received an NIH/NIAMS grant to investigate the function of the ArcAB-TolC pump. Smith also conducted numerous interviews regarding COVID-19 research, including with Rolling Stone Magazine and the Wall Street Journal.